How Much Would You Spend To Market Your Book?

I’m an entrepreneur and an aspiring writer. When I’m writing, I’m often thinking of the next business I want to start. When I’m working on a new business, I’m often thinking of the next book I want to write. It’s a heady dialectic, to be sure, and generates a lot of angst and guilt that I’m not doing the other activity. My cross to bear, I guess.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about marketing. You see, I’m almost ready to release my first book, and as I mentioned in a previous post, I am putting into practice all the great advice from Konrath, Locke, et al. It hasn’t taken me long to notice that I’m not the only one out there engaged in doing this. Several questions have popped up for me during the process: how do I find my “niche” audience? Are there any unique ways of getting my message in front of them? Will I have to pay to do so?

The last question is especially relevant–and I’m not the only who has asked it, as a quick troll through a variety of blogs reveals. Author Brad Swift, for example, has asked the question: “If you had a budget of $1,500 to promote and market your book(s) that are available as Kindle books and POD hard copies, how would you use it? If that budget was $3,000 what else would you do? Is there anything else you’d include if your marketing budget was $5,000?”

Jane Friedman responded to Swift’s query by saying that one should first determine the “primary target audience.”  She suggests that you shouldn’t “spend a dime until you know who you’re trying to sell to. You should thoroughly research your target readers’ habits, discover where they spend their time online, and how they decide to purchase books.”

So my question of the day is: assuming you can find that “primary target audience,” how much would you spend to reach them? I’ll start off by saying that I would spend in the $250-500 range. Let me know what you would spend. I’ll share the results in another post. Thanks!

2 Comments

Filed under EBook Marketing Innovations, EBooks and Advertising

2 responses to “How Much Would You Spend To Market Your Book?

  1. So much depends on whether one’s aim is to sell enough books to make a living, or not. Personally, my aim is to have readers liking and wanting more of what I write. Today with the ebook, I can supply at no charge to myself. If I don’t gradually build up a following (click button recommendations/likes), I suppose it’s because I’m not that good after all. However, push come to shove, I wouldn’t want to spend more than the $250-500 range with the view to a return that at least leaves me quits.
    Sorry. I’m not a good example as I’m retired and have everything I need (except perhaps an infallible, unharmful way of ridding my dogs of fleas).

  2. It depends on what you are marketing. You or the people you market with have to know your product. There are a few things in marketing that are generic, most have to be very pointed There are many marketing services that will tell you they can market you book with out reading it. They can not.

    As far as the money it depends what you want to do with the book. How big do you want it. Hard cover costs are high. E- books not so.

    If I had $250.. to $500.00 I would go away for the week end and spend none of it on marketing. That is only enough to lose. You need more like $2,500 to $5,000.00.
    “Reading is the gateway to your dreams. Everything you do or dream of doing in life will come through reading.” — Michael John McCann

Leave a Reply

