Six Sentences from The Book of Margery Kempe

Hi Folks,

Here are six sentences from The Book of Margery Kempe, a novel due out in January 2011. Thanks for reading, and all comments are appreciated!

As a young girl, adrift in my loneliness, I created a circle of imaginary friends, drawn from the books I’d read. Afternoons, after school, I would stroll along the Thames near my home in Teddington, happily conversing with my favorite heroes and heroines of literature, Moll Flanders, Becky Sharp, Clarissa, Tom Jones, Julian Sorel and numerous others, discoursing and holding forth as I winded my way along the river, bending my ear to their voices, clapping with delight when they hailed me as the Princess of the River, the Mistress of the Tides, and I was happy for a time, until the darkness lowered itself upon the water and my steps turned reluctantly toward home.

 I learned early that the river does empty itself of all things, bearing them to the great and unforgiving sea. There in the murk and swirl they are beaten into polished glass, whitened shell, fragmentary things; eventually, they wash up on another shore, different from what they were.

That’s what happened to me. I was emptied of myself…

3 Comments

Filed under The Book of Margery Kempe

3 responses to “Six Sentences from The Book of Margery Kempe

  1. Imaginative and poetic in reality. I felt my chest tighten as I read these sentences.

  2. Thanks so much for your kindness! Sometimes we all have to walk to the sea:)

  3. Just beautiful! I can’t wait to read it.

Leave a Reply

